The TAS

Motivation:

TAS-M.jpgWhen measuring the length of an object, the position corresponding to the beginning of the measuring tape must be known. Otherwise, a systematic error, i.e. a biased measurement, will be the result.

This is also true for high-energy physics tracking detectors. A tracking device describes the particle trajectory by means of several position measurements on different modules at different heights. The particle trajectory follows from the computation of the best curved line that passes through the measurements. Knowing the exact position of each module is of fundamental importance for the trajectory determination. The procedure that determines the modules misplacements is called alignment.

The AMS-02 Tracker was aligned in 2010 using a straight proton beam at SPS (CERN). The proton beam was used as a reference. Translation and rotation constants for all Tracker modules have been determined with respect to it.

However, thermal conditions may change rapidly in space. This fact can introduce some mechanical deformation and misalignments, that will affect the rigidity measurement. The Tracker Alignment System (TAS) will provide the means for a fast and reliable monitoring of the Tracker geometrical stability during the AMS-02 mission. Systematic errors due to misalignments can then be monitored and corrected.

Background:

The TAS provides laser beams that mimic straight tracks. The position of a laser beam can be reconstructed with a higher precision than the position of a single particle crossing the Tracker. Indeed, a change in the tracker geometry can be determined with accuracy better than 5 µm.

Construction: 

CIMG3605_0.jpgTen pairs of alignment control laser beams are installed beneath the AMS-02 Tracker. Laser diodes mounted outside the inner tracker volume generate a beam of photons. The wavelength of these beams, 1082 nm (infrared bandwidth or IR), was chosen in order to penetrate all 7 inner tracker detector layers at once. The tracker sensors placed along the alignment beams have an anti-reflective coating (SiO₂ and Si₃N₄) optimized for the chosen wavelength (residual reflectivity ~ 1%). This coating reduces the strong attenuation caused by the high refractive index of silicon.

ams-02_tas_lfcr_vibration_2.jpgThe AMS-02 tracker alignment control based on IR laser beams fulfills the requirements of a space borne experiment. It is light weight (3kg) and has a very low power consumption (1 mW). Based on the AMS-02 experience, a similar system has been developed for the largest silicon tracker ever built, the CMS tracker at LHC.

Das TAS

Motivation:

TAS-M.jpgBei der Messung der Länge eines Objekts, muss die Position, die dem Anfang des Meßbands entspricht, bekannt sein. Ansonsten erhält die Messung einen systematischen Fehler.

Dies gilt auch für Spurdetektoren in der Hochenergiephysik. Ein Spurdetector beschreibt die Flugbahn eines Teilchens in dem es mehrere Positionsmessungen auf verschiedenen Modulen in unterschiedlichen Höhen vornimmt. Die Flugbahn folgt dann aus der Berechnung derjenigen gekrümmten Bahn, welche am besten zu den Messungen passt. Kenntnis der genauen Position jedes Moduls ist also von größter Wichtigkeit. Die Prozedur, welche die Fehler auf die Positionen der einzelnen Module bestimmt, nennt man Alignment.

Der AMS-02 Tracker wurde mit Hilfe eines geraden Protonstrahls im Jahre 2010 am SPS (CERN) ausgemessen. Dieser Protonstrahl wurde als Referenz benutzt und die Translationen und Rotationen aller Trackermodule bezüglich dieses Referenzstrahls wurden bestimmt.

Allerdings können sich im Weltall die Temperaturbedingungen schnell ändern. Dies kann zu mechanischen Deformationen und Fehlausrichtungen führen, welche die Rigiditätsmessung beeinflussen können. Das Tracker Alignment System (TAS) sorgt dafür, dass die geometrische Stabilität des Detektors sehr und zuverlässig während der gesamten AMS-02 Mission überwacht werden kann. Systematische Fehler aufgrund von Fehlausrichtungen können so überwacht und korrigiert werden.

Hintergrund:

Das TAS liefert Laserstrahlen, welche gerade Teilchenspuren simulieren. Die Positionen der Laserstrahlen können genauer vermessen werden als die Position eines einzelnen einfallenden Teilchens. Jede Änderung der Trackergeometrie kann mit einer Genauigkeit von besser als 5 Mikrometern bestimmt werden.

Konstruktion: 

CIMG3605_0.jpgUnterhalb des AMS-02 Trackers sind zehn Laserpaare isntalliert. Laserdioden, welche an der Außenseite des inneren Trackervolumens befestigt sind, stellen Photonenstrahlen bereit. Die Wellenlänge dieser Strahlen, 1082 nm (infrarot), wurde so gewählt dass alle 7 inneren Trackerlagen auf einmal durchdrungen werden können. Die Trackersensoren entlang der Laserstrahlen sind mit einer Antireflektionsbeschichtung (SiO₂ and Si₃N₄) versehen, welche auf die verwendete Wellenlänge optimiert ist (~1% Reflektivität). Diese Beschichtung reduziert die starke Dämpfung die sonst durch den hohen Brechungsindex des Siliziums hervorgerufen würde.

ams-02_tas_lfcr_vibration_2.jpgDas AMS-02 TAS, welches auf IR Lasern basiert, erfüllt die Bedingungen, die an ein Welt-raumexperiment gestellt werden. Es ist sehr leicht (3 kg) und hat eine sehr geringe Leistungsaufnahme (1 mW). Aufgrund der Erfahrungen von AMS-02 wurde ein ähnliches System für den größten Siliziumtracker der je gebaut wurde - den CMS Tracker am LHC - entwickelt.