The Time-of-Flight


Motivation

ToF-M.jpgThe Time-of-Flight (ToF) system is the stop-watch of AMS-02. In addition to being able to measure a particle's transit time through the detector to a high degree (150 ps), it also serves to notify the other subdetectors, that a particle has passed through the experiment.

The ToF system consists of two planes. When a particle passes through one plane AMS-02's internal timer - the Time-to-Digital Converter (TDC) - starts running. When the particle reaches the other side of the experiment, the timer stops.

If a particle passes both ToF planes, it is said to be "inside the acceptance". In this case, the ToF system alerts all other subdetectors and the data from each of these systems (Tracker, ECAL, TRD, RICH, ACC and the ToF itself) is collected, processed and stored. A signal which can start the data aquisition is called a trigger. The trigger for AMS-02 is composed not only of the ToF, but of a combination of the ToF (for charged particles), the ACC (as a veto for high inclination particles) and the ECAL (for neutral particles).

In addition, the ToF system is also important for antimatter detection. Both particles and antiparticles are bent by a magnetic field, albeit in opposite directions. This fact also means, that the trajectory of a particle travelling downwards is the same as that of it's antiparticle travelling upwards. The ToF seperates both cases by determining the flight direction of each particle.

Physics Background

TOF_paddleM.jpgAs a time measurement is the goal of the ToF system, the signal created by the system must coincide with the actual passage through the detector to a high degree. To achieve this, the process of szintillation is used. When a particle passes through szintillating material it causes molecular excitations in the material. The de-excitation process consists of a rapid (~ 10 ns) emision of flourescence light. This light can be collected by light guides and routed to one or more photomultipliers (PMT).

A PMT is a device capable of efficiently converting light into electrons - and therefore a signal - by means of the photoelectric effect. A series of electrodes - the dynodes - multiply the original electrons before the signal is read out. The multiplication factor - or gain - is usually up to 10^8.

A particular class of PMT - the fine-mesh PMT - has a very compact dynode structure. This minimizes the effects of the stray magnetic field on the multiplication process. These fine-mesh PMTs are used for the AMS-02 ToF.

Construction

The AMS-02 ToF system is composed by 4 planes of scintillation counters 2 above and 2 below the magnet. The four planes contain, beginning from top, 8, 8, 10 and 8 scintillator paddles. Each ToF plane consists of paddles aligned  along the x and y coordinates, respectively.

A ToF paddle consists of 1 cm thick polyvinyltoluene scintillator of trapezoidal or rectangular shape (of dimension approximately 1×12×120 cm3). The scintillators are coupled at both ends via plexiglass light guides to 4/6 Photo-Multipliers (PMTs).

Das ToF


Motivation

ToF-M.jpg

Das Flugzeitsystem (TOF, engl. Time-of-Flight) ist die Stoppuhr des AMS-02-Experiments. Es kann mit einer hohen Präzession (150 ps) die Durchflugzeit eines einfallenden Teilchens bestimmen. Zusätzlich dient es als Trigger, das heißt es informiert die anderen Subdetektoren, dass ein Teilchen durch das Experiment fliegt.

Das ToF-System besteht aus zwei Ebenen. Wenn ein Teilchen eine der beiden Ebenen durchquert, startet die interne Stoppuhr des Experiments - der Time-to-Digital Converter (TDC). Beim Durchqueren der anderen Ebene wird die Stoppuhr angehalten.

Bei einem Teilchen welches beide ToF-Ebenen durchquert wird, bezeichnet man es als "innerhalb der Akzeptanz". In diesem Fall werden alle anderen Subdetektoren informiert und die Daten dieser Subsysteme (Tracker, ECAL, TRD, RICH, ACC und das ToF selbst) werden ausgelesen, prozessiert und gespeichert. Ein Signal welches die Datennahme startet wird auch "Trigger" genannt. Der Trigger für AMS-02 besteht nicht nur aus dem ToF, sondern aus einer Kombination aus ToF (für geladene Teilchen), ACC (als Veto für schräg einfliegende Teilchen) und ECAL (für neutrale Teilchen).

Desweiteren ist das ToF-System wichtig für die Untersuchung von Antimaterie. Die Teilchenspuren von sowohl Teilchen als auch Antiteilchen werden in einem homogenen Magnetfeld gekrümmt, allerdings in entgegengesetzte Richtungen. Dies bedeutet aber, dass die Spur eines von oben nach unten fliegenden Teilchens genau so aussieht wie die Spur eines Antiteilchens welches in der umgekehrten Richtung fliegt. Durch die Zeitmessung des ToFs können diese beiden Vorgänge von einander getrennt werden.

Hintergrund

TOF_paddleM.jpgDa eine Zeitmessung das Ziel des ToF-Systems ist, muss das Signal, welches der Detektor erzeugt zeitlich sehr präzise zum eigentlichen Teilchendurchgang passen. Um diese Präzession zu erreichen, wird das Prinzip der Szintillation benutzt. Beim Durchflug eines Teilchens durch szintillierendes Material wird dieses angeregt. Der Abregungsprozess ist eine sehr schnelle (~10ns) Abstrahlung von Flourescenzlicht. Dieses Licht kann durch Lichtleiter eingefangen und an einen oder mehrere Photomultipliern (PMTs) geleitet werden.

Ein PMT ist ein Gerät welches mit Hilfe des photoelektrischen Effekts Licht in Elektronen - und damit in ein Signal - umwandelt. Eine Anordnung von mehreren Elektroden - die sogenannten Dynoden - vervielfachen die ursprünglich erzeugten Elektronen bis das Signal ausgelesen wird. Der Vervielfachungsfaktor (auch Gain genannt) ist typischerweise bis zu 10^8.

Eine spezielle Art von PMT - der fine-mesh PMT - hat eine sehr kompakte Dynodenstruktur. Dieser kompakte Aufbau minimiert den Einfluss des Magnetfeldes auf den Vervielfachungsprozess. Diese fine-mesh PMTs werden für das AMS-02 ToF verwendet.

Konstruktion

Das ToF-System von AMS-02 besteht aus vier Ebenen aus Szintillationszählern, jeweils zwei über und zwei unter dem Magneten. Diese vier Ebenen bestehen aus (von oben nach unten) 8, 8, 10 und 8 Szintillationsbalken. Diese Balken sind je nach Ebene entlang der x- bzw. y-Achse ausgerichtet.

Jeder Balken besteht aus einem 1 cm dickem Polyvinyltoluenszintallator in Form eines Trapez oder eines Rechtecks. Die Abmessungen betragen ungefähr 1x12x120 cm3. An beiden eines Balkens wird das Licht mit Hilfe von Plexiglass-Lichtleitern an 4 bzw. 6 PMTs weitergeleitet.